SIGBOX Organization Administrator's Guide
Toggle TOC panel
Managing groups

The Groups page allows Organization administrators to define groups of SIGBOX users with whom files can be shared.

Permission to share a file with a group of users is granted through the group's association with a classification, which in turn is specified when sharing the file.

If a SIGBOX user:

  • Belongs to any group, which in turn is associated with a classification, then that SIGBOX user can be shared a file when this classification is specified.
  • Is not associated with a classification (by virtue of their account not being a member of any group associated with this classification), then that SIGBOX user cannot be shared a file when this classification is specified.
Groups page

Note: Groups are not exposed in any way to SIGBOX users who do not have the Organization administrator role.

Adding a new group

To add a new group to your organization on SIGBOX Services:

  1. Sign in to SIGBOX Organization Administration.
  2. Click the Groups option on the left of the SIGBOX Organization Administration interface to open the Groups page.
  3. Click the Add New button.
  4. In the Add new group dialog box, specify the:
    • Name - A name that best describes the group's members (i.e. SIGBOX users) in a short sentence.
    • Description ( Optional ) - A longer description to provide more information about the group. Be aware that the value of this field is only visible when this group is subsequently edited (in the Edit group dialog box).
  5. Click Save and the new group is added and will appear as a new entry on the Groups page.
    Notes:

Modifying users in an existing group

To modify the membership of SIGBOX users in an existing group:

  1. Sign in to SIGBOX Organization Administration.
  2. Click the Groups option on the left of the SIGBOX Organization Administration interface to open the Groups page.
  3. In the Members column, click the numbered link associated with the group whose existing SIGBOX users are to be modified. This opens the 'group's members' dialog box.
  4. In this dialog box, any SIGBOX users whose email addresses appear in the Group members section on the right are already members of the group:
    To do the following: Do this: Which results in this:
    Add a user to the group Click the email address of that user in the Available users section. Transfers that user to the Group members section.
    Remove a user from the group Click the email address of that user in the Group members section. Transfers that user to the Available users section.
    Find specific users by filtering them (making it easier to add or remove them above) In either the Available users or Group members sections, begin typing (into its respective Filter... box) a series of characters contained in the SIGBOX users' email addresses. The list of users (in their respective section/s) being filtered to those whose email address contains the subset of characters entered into its Filter... box.
    Add all users to the group Click the
    Add all button
    (Add all) button in the Available users section.
    Transfers all remaining users in this section to Group members.
    Remove all users from the group Click the
    Remove all button
    (Remove all) button in the Group members section.
    Transfers all remaining users in this section to Available users.
  5. Click Save and the group's membership will be modified accordingly. The number in the Members column associated with this group is updated to reflect the total number of SIGBOX users that were in Group members section (just before clicking Save).
    Note: To associate this group (of one or more SIGBOX users) with one or more classifications (which would then allow these classifications to restrict file sharing to these SIGBOX users), see Modifying classifications on an existing group.

Modifying classifications on an existing group

To modify the association of classifications with an existing group:

  1. Sign in to SIGBOX Organization Administration.
  2. Click the Groups option on the left of the SIGBOX Organization Administration interface to open the Groups page.
  3. In the Permissions column, click the numbered link associated with the group whose existing classifications are to be modified. This opens the 'group's classifications' dialog box.
  4. In this dialog box, any classifications which appear in the Group classifications section on the right are already associated with the group:
    To do the following: Do this: Which results in this:
    Add a classification to the group Click the classification in the Available classifications section. Transfers that classification to the Group classifications section.
    Remove a classification from the group Click the classification in the Group classifications section. Transfers that classification to the Available classifications section.
    Find specific classifications by filtering them (making it easier to add or remove them above) In either the Available classifications or Group classifications sections, begin typing (into its respective Filter... box) a series of characters contained in the classification's name. The list of classifications (in their respective section/s) being filtered to those whose name contains the subset of characters entered into its Filter... box.
    Add all classifications to the group Click the
    Add all button
    (Add all) button in the Available classifications section.
    Transfers all remaining classifications in this section to Group classifications.
    Remove all classifications from the group Click the
    Remove all button
    (Remove all) button in the Group classifications section.
    Transfers all remaining classifications in this section to Available classifications.
  5. Click Save and the group's classifications will be modified accordingly. The number in the Permissions column associated with this group is updated to reflect the total number of classifications that were in Group classifications section (just before clicking Save).
    Note: To add one or more SIGBOX users to this group, which would then allow these classifications to restrict file sharing to these SIGBOX users (including any others who are members of this group), see Modifying users in an existing group.

Editing an existing group

Editing an existing group allows modification of the group's Name and Description. This functionality can also be used to view a group's Description.

To edit an existing group in your organization:

  1. Sign in to SIGBOX Organization Administration.
  2. Click the Groups option on the left of the SIGBOX Organization Administration interface to open the Groups page.
  3. Locate/scroll to the relevant group and select its check box on the left.
  4. Click the Edit button.
  5. In the Edit group dialog box, modify the:
    • Name - A name that best describes its members (i.e. SIGBOX users) in a short sentence.
    • Description ( Optional ) - A longer description to provide more information about the group. Be aware that this field is only visible from this dialog box.
  6. Click Save and the group's Name and Description are updated accordingly.
    Note: Due to a minor bug that will be fixed in a future product release, it is currently not possible to clear the Description field once any text has been added.

Removing an existing group

Removing an existing group removes any association between the SIGBOX users who were members of this group as well as any classifications that were associated with the group.

Therefore, if a SIGBOX user was shared a file with a classification that is associated with one or more groups (of which the user is also a member) and the removal of one of these groups results in the user:

  • Still remaining associated with this classification (through the classification's association with other groups to which the user is also a member), then the user will still have access to this file.
  • Losing their association with this classification (because the user was not a member of any other group that had an association with this classification), then the user loses access to this file.

To remove an existing group from your organization:

  1. Sign in to SIGBOX Organization Administration.
  2. Click the Groups option on the left of the SIGBOX Organization Administration interface to open the Groups page.
  3. Locate/scroll to the relevant group and select its check box on the left.
  4. Click the Remove button.
  5. On the Remove group message box, click Yes to proceed with the group's removal.